Sunday, February 10, 2013

Congrats to Terri Witek and Lola Haskins

Florida Literary Arts Coalition members Terri Witek and Lola Haskins won silver and bronze respectively in the 2012 Florida Book Awards. Witek and Haskins won for their poetry collections, Exit Island and Grace to Leave. Click here to learn more about Florida authors who were honored.

The Florida Book Awards is an annual awards program that recognizes, honors and celebrates the best Florida literature and books about Florida published in the previous year. Click here to learn more about this program.

Friday, February 8, 2013

Finishing Line Press poetry competition

The deadline for the Finishing Line Press chapbook-length poetry collection competition is February 15th. The contest is open to women who have never before published a full-length poetry collection. Click here to learn more.

Sunday, February 3, 2013

National Poetry Series Deadline Approaching

The deadline for the 2013 National Poetry Series contest is coming up on February 15. Those interested can read the contest guidelines here. Good luck!

The National Poetry Series was established in 1978 to ensure the publication of five books of poetry each year. Winning manuscripts are selected through an annual open competition, judged by five distinguished poets. Each winning poet receives a $1,000 cash award in addition to having his or her manuscript published by a participating trade, university, or small press publisher. Publishers currently include HarperCollins Publishers, Fence Books, University of Georgia Press, Penguin Books, and Milkweed Editions.   Recent judges have included John Ashbery, Patricia Smith, Nikky Finney, Dean Young, Campbell McGrath, D. Nurkse, and D.A. Powell.  Among the list of more than 150 esteemed NPS winners are award-winning poets Billy Collins, Stephen Dunn, Mark Doty, Marie Howe, Nathaniel Mackey, Naomi Shihab Nye, Eleni Sikelianos, and Terrance Hayes.